How does marijuana affect health?

Marijuana is the most widely used illegal drug in Canada. About 14% of Canadians over the age of 15 report using it in 2005. It is a mood-altering drug that comes from the Cannabis sativa plant, and it has many street names, including weed, pot, reefer, hash, grass and dope. The effect or high of marijuana is caused by the chemical THC (delta-9-tetrahydro-cannabinol). Possessing, producing and trafficking in marijuana can result in fines, prison sentences, and criminal records.


Short-term effects

The effects of marijuana depend on the person, the setting, and the amount used. The concentration of THC in marijuana can vary widely, as can the effects on users. Some people who use marijuana may feel relaxed and happy. Others may become quiet and withdrawn.

If marijuana is smoked, the effects are felt quite quickly and last for two to four hours. If marijuana is eaten, its effects occur more slowly and might last for a longer time. Some of the immediate effects of marijuana are:

  • forgetfulness
  • trouble concentrating
  • slower reactions

Some users may feel:

  • severe anxiety
  • panic attacks
  • fearful and suspicious (paranoia)

These effects usually disappear within hours. Driving or operating machinery after using marijuana is not safe, especially if combined with other drugs, including alcohol.


Long-term effects

Using marijuana heavily for a long period of time can have serious side effects. Marijuana smoke contains chemicals that damage the lungs and can lead to chronic coughing, lung infections, and in some cases, cancer. People who smoke both marijuana and tobacco may develop lung, neck and head cancers at a younger age than those who smoke only tobacco.

Heavy marijuana use at a young age may affect brain development, especially in the areas of the brain that control the ability to focus attention. Many long-term users have problems with:

  • concentration
  • abstract thinking
  • short-term memory

Most of these problems disappear after a few weeks without marijuana, but some may last longer. Heavy marijuana users may also experience mental health problems, such as anxiety and depression. In some cases, it may trigger schizophrenia in people who have a family history of this disease.


Marijuana and pregnancy

Women who use marijuana during pregnancy are more likely to have premature or underweight babies.  As the children grow up, they may have some learning and behavioural problems.


Addiction

Regular users of marijuana develop a tolerance to it, which means that they need to use more of the drug to produce the same effect. Heavy, long-term use of marijuana can cause dependence. Dependent people crave the drug and may have difficulty reducing or stopping their use of it.

Dependent users who quit may feel mild withdrawal symptoms including:

  • troubled sleep
  • irritability
  • anxiety
  • nausea
  • sweating
  • loss of appetite

These symptoms usually last less than a week, but cravings can last much longer.


Medical marijuana

Marijuana is an illegal drug in Canada. Possessing, producing, buying and selling it can result in fines, a prison sentence and a criminal record. There is an exception, however, for some people who use marijuana for medical reasons, such as to decrease the nausea caused by anti-cancer drugs or, in the case of HIV/AIDS patients, to increase appetite.

Although research hasn’t yet shown a clear and unique medical benefit of marijuana, Health Canada brought in regulations in 2001 to allow some patients and caregivers to possess and grow marijuana for medical purposes.

For help in your province, search the Treatment Services in Canada database produced by the Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse.


Additional resources:

Selected books:

Quels sont les effets de la marijuana sur la santé?

La marijuana est la drogue illicite la plus communément utilisée au Canada. En 2005, environ 14  des Canadiens de plus de 15 ans disaient en avoir consommé. C’est une substance psychotrope (« qui agit sur l’activité mentale ») qui vient d’une plante : le chanvre ou Cannabis sativa. Elle a de nombreux noms populaires : l’herbe, le pot, le cannabis, le hasch, la marie-jeanne… L’état d’euphorie suscité par la marijuana est causé par une substance chimique : le delta-9-tétrahydrocannabinol ou THC. La possession, la culture et le trafic de la marijuana sont pénalisés par des amendes, des peines d’emprisonnement et l’inscription de l’infraction sur le casier judiciaire.


Effets à court terme

Les effets de la marijuana dépendent du sujet, du lieu et de la quantité consommée. La concentration en THC de la marijuana varie énormément, tout comme ses effets sur les utilisateurs. Chez certaines personnes, la marijuana favorise un sentiment de détente et de bonheur. D’autres deviennent plutôt silencieuses et repliées sur elles-mêmes.

Si la marijuana est fumée, ses effets sont ressentis très rapidement et durent de deux à quatre heures. Si la marijuana est ingérée (mangée), ses effets sont ressentis plus lentement et peuvent durer plus longtemps. Voici quelques-uns des effets de la marijuana à court terme :

  • distraction
  • difficulté à se concentrer
  • réactions plus lentes

Certains consommateurs éprouvent les effets suivants :

  • anxiété grave
  • crises de panique
  • peur et méfiance (paranoïa)

Ces effets se dissipent d’habitude en quelques heures. Il est dangereux de conduire ou de faire fonctionner une machine après avoir pris de la marijuana, surtout en combinaison avec d’autres drogues ou médicaments, y compris l’alcool.


Effets à long terme

La consommation abusive de marijuana sur une longue période peut avoir des effets secondaires graves. La fumée de marijuana contient des produits chimiques qui endommagent les poumons et peuvent entraîner une toux chronique, des infections pulmonaires et parfois le cancer. Les personnes qui fument à la fois de la marijuana et du tabac peuvent contracter des cancers du poumon, de la gorge et de la tête à un âge moins avancé que les personnes qui ne fument que du tabac.

La consommation abusive de marijuana quand on est jeune peut nuire au développement du cerveau, et surtout des zones du cerveau qui contrôlent la capacité de se concentrer. Beaucoup de consommateurs à long terme éprouvent des problèmes de :

  • concentration
  • pensée abstraite
  • mémoire à court terme

La plupart de ces problèmes disparaissent au bout de quelques semaines lorsqu’on cesse de consommer, mais certains peuvent persister. Les consommateurs excessifs de marijuana peuvent aussi éprouver des problèmes de santé mentale comme l’anxiété et la dépression. La marijuana peut déclencher la schizophrénie chez les certains sujets qui ont des antécédents familiaux de cette maladie.


La marijuana et la grossesse

Les femmes qui consomment de la marijuana pendant la grossesse sont plus susceptibles d’avoir un bébé prématuré ou de poids insuffisant. Quand l’enfant grandit, il peut avoir des problèmes d’apprentissage et de comportement.


Dépendance

Les habitués de la marijuana acquièrent une tolérance; autrement dit, ils ont besoin d’en consommer davantage pour obtenir le même effet. La consommation abusive de marijuana à long terme peut créer une dépendance. Les personnes dépendantes, dites « en état de manque », ont besoin de la drogue et peuvent avoir du mal à réduire ou à cesser leur consommation.

Lorsqu’il y a dépendance, le renoncement à la marijuana peut provoquer de légers symptômes de sevrage :

  • sommeil agité
  • irritabilité
  • anxiété
  • nausées
  • sueurs
  • perte d’appétit

Ces symptômes durent d’habitude moins d’une semaine, mais l’état de manque peut persister beaucoup plus longtemps.


Usage de la marijuana à des fins médicales

Au Canada, la marijuana est une drogue illicite. La possession, la culture, l’achat et la vente de marijuana peuvent entraîner des amendes, des peines d’emprisonnement et un casier judiciaire. Il y a des exceptions, mais elles ne concernent que les personnes qui consomment de la marijuana pour des raisons d’ordre médical, comme pour réduire les nausées provoquées par les médicaments anticancéreux ou, dans le cas des personnes vivant avec le VIH/Sida, pour stimuler l’appétit.

Bien que les études n’aient pas encore prouvé hors de tout doute les avantages de la marijuana sur le plan médical, Santé Canada a adopté en 2001 un règlement qui autorise certains patients et soignants à posséder et à cultiver de la marijuana à des fins médicales.

Pour trouver de l’aide dans votre province, consultez la base de données sur les services de traitement du Centre canadien de lutte contre l’alcoolisme et les toxicomanies.


Autres ressources