Conference overview

Conference logo

Public Health 2017 is the national forum where public health professionals, researchers, policy-makers, academics, students and trainees come together to strengthen efforts to improve health and well-being, share the latest research and information, promote best practices and advocate for public health issues and policies grounded in research.

Who Should Attend?

Anyone who is interested in improving the health and well-being of the entire population should be attending this conference. Public Health 2017 is the meeting place for a wide range of disciplines and sectors, at various career stages, all striving for a common goal. The conference may be of particular interest to: academics and researchers; students/trainees; policy-makers, administrators and managers; health promotion workers; front-line public health workers; media; people working in urban, rural, remote and small communities and anyone with an interest in public health.

Program

Starting a year in advance, the Steering and Scientific Committees oversee the development of the scientific and social program. The Steering Committee develops conference objectives, learning objectives, and conference tracks that shape the entire program through a range of session types, including:

  • Plenary Sessions, planned by the Steering Committee, are keynote addresses or panel discussions that take place over the course of the conference on topics that appeal to all delegates;
  • Collaborator Sessions, planned by each collaborating organization, align with the overall conference objectives and each organizational mandate;
  • Workshops and Symposia, chosen by the Scientific Committee based on the open call for submissions and the results of the peer review process, provide delegates with concrete skills and insights on various topics;
  • Oral presentations, selected based on the results of the open call process, are 12 minutes in length followed by a 3-minute discussion period. They are presented in groups of five based on conference tracks; and
  • Poster presentations, selected based on the results of the open call process, are displayed throughout the conference and are the focus of a special poster and networking reception.

Aperçu de la conférence

Logo de la Conférence

Santé publique 2017 est la tribune nationale où les professionnels, les chercheurs, les responsables des politiques, les universitaires, les étudiants et les stagiaires de la santé publique se rassemblent pour renforcer les efforts d’amélioration de la santé et du bien-être, partager la recherche et les données les plus récentes, promouvoir les pratiques exemplaires et promulguer l’intégration de la recherche dans les enjeux et les politiques de santé publique.

Qui devrait y être?

Toute personne intéressée à améliorer la santé et le bien-être de la population dans son ensemble devrait assister à cette conférence. Santé publique 2017 est un lieu de rassemblement pour les acteurs d’un vaste éventail de disciplines et de secteurs, à différents stades de leur carrière, tous attachés au même objectif. La conférence intéressera particulièrement les universitaires et les chercheurs; les étudiants et les stagiaires; les responsables des politiques, les administrateurs et les gestionnaires; les agents de promotion de la santé; les intervenants de première ligne en santé publique; les journalistes; les travailleurs des communautés urbaines, rurales, éloignées et de petite taille; et quiconque s’intéresse à la santé publique!

Programme

Un an à l’avance, le comité directeur et le comité scientifique coordonnent l’élaboration du programme scientifique et social. Le comité directeur détermine les objectifs de la conférence, les objectifs d’apprentissage et les axes de la conférence, qui dessinent l’ensemble du programme avec différents types de séances :

  • Les séances plénières, planifiées par le comité directeur, sont des discours-programme ou des débats de spécialistes qui ont lieu durant la conférence sur des thèmes qui intéressent tous les délégués;
  • Les séances de collaboration, planifiées par chaque organisme collaborateur, correspondent aux objectifs généraux de la conférence et au mandat de l’organisme;
  • Les ateliers et colloques, choisis par le comité scientifique à la suite d’un appel de soumissions ouvert et d’un processus d’examen par les pairs, offrent aux délégués des compétences concrètes et des aperçus sur divers sujets;
  • Les exposés oraux, sélectionnés selon les résultats du processus de l’appel ouvert, durent 12 minutes chacun et sont suivis d’une période de discussion de 3 minutes. Ils sont présentés en groupes de cinq en fonction des axes de la conférence; et
  • Les affiches, sélectionnées selon les résultats du processus de l’appel ouvert, sont exposées tout au long de la conférence et font l’objet d’une réception de réseautage spéciale avec les auteurs.